Printing Instructions: Select File and then Print from your browser's menu
--- Article Information ---
This article was printed from Confederation of Asian and Pacific Accountants
Article's URL:


By: (Wednesday, November/03/2010)

Formation of CAPA


  1. Australia
  2. Hong Kong
  3. India
  4. Indonesia
  5. Japan
  6. Korea
  7. Malaysia (then Malaya including North Borneo, Sabah and Sarawak)  
  1. New Zealand  
  2. Pakistan
  3. Taiwan
  4. Thailand
  5. The Philippines

Delegates from England and Netherlands were also present as observers at the conference.

  1. A proposal for the establishment of a federation of accountants in the Far East Region.
  2. To hold similar conferences in the future at regular interval; primarily to discuss and to exchange ideas and information among member countries.

Change of Name to CAPA

At the 2nd CAPA Conference held in Melbourne in 1960, there were three new members from Ceylon (now Sri Lanka), Singapore, and the United States. To reflect the extended membership, the description of the confederation was aptly changed from the Far East Conference of Accountants to the Confederation of Asian And Pacific Accountants (CAPA).

--- end ---